expense allowance plus \$15 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence, both tax free. The Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$6,000 plus \$3,000 expense allowance, the Deputy Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$4,800 plus \$2,400 expense allowance, and the Leader of the Opposition's sessional indemnity is \$7,600 plus \$3,800 expense allowance. Each also receives \$15 for each day during the session when he is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. The Premier, in addition to the sessional indemnity, receives \$16,000 and each of the other Ministers receives \$12,500.

30.—Legislatures of Alberta, 1945-66, as at June 30, 1966

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 82; for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 117; and for 1935-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 90.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1948 Aug. 5, 1952 June 29, 1955 June 18, 1959 June 17, 1963	10th	3 5 5	Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949 Feb. 19, 1953 Aug. 17, 1955 Feb. 11, 1960 Feb. 13, 1964	July 16, 1948 June 28, 1952 May 12, 1965 May 9, 1969 May 9, 1963

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at June 30, 1966.

31.—Eighth Ministry of Alberta, as at June 30, 1966

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 17, 1963: 60 Social Credit, 2 Liberal and 1 Coalition.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of Council and Attorney General. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Highways. Minister of Education. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Lands and Forests. Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Mines and Development and Minister of Mines and Minerals. Minister of Labour and Minister of Telephones. Minister of Health. Minister of Agriculture. Provincial Secretary. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. Ernest C. Manning. Hor. Alfred J. Hooke. Hon. Gordon E. Taylor. Hon. Randolph H. McKinnon. Hon. Leonard C. Halmrast. Hon. Henry A. Ruste. Hon. Anders O. Alborg. Hon. Fred C. Coldorne. Hon. A. Russell Patrick. Hon. Raymond Rejerson.	Sept. 18, 1957 Oct. 15, 1962 Oct. 15, 1962 Nov. 30, 1962	(May 31, 1943 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 May 1, 1951 July 31, 1984 Oct. 15, 1962 Feb. 16, 1965 July 29, 1984 Nov. 30, 1992 (Sept. 1, 1959 Oct. 15, 1962 Sept. 22, 1950 Sept. 18, 1937 Oct. 15, 1962 Oct. 15, 1962 Nov. 30, 1962 Nov. 30, 1962

Subsection 10.—British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Maj.-Gen. the Hon. George Randolph Pearkes, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1965, was commissioned to office Oct. 12, 1960. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1871) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 118.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 55 members. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 118; the present Premier assumed office in 1952.

Each member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$5,000 and \$1,500 for expenses. There is also paid to each member a living